September 8, 2008

  • A close look at fast food in Bakersfield.

    I decided to sample each burger from the chains here in Bakersfield to find out if fast food was worth it. It’s my duty to report that as of 12:50pm today I’m going back on the no-fast-food wagon, so this was a last hurrah and my last chance to pass on my Burger-tice to the community at large. We’re going to go up, from worst to first, and the order may shock you.

    Day 1 – The Worst Burger In Bakersfield – Sonic Drive Thru

    Ok, this isn’t looking so bad. It’s cool in a classy-retro way, but what the picture doesn’t show is the 30 minute wait to get one. It’s a SuperSonic burger, minus the pickles and onions… ’cause I hates them.

    Ugh. It’s been smashed. It was crammed into the same bag as my sideways sitting chili dog, which had more chili on the wrapper than on the dog, and apparently making my fluffy bun 1/4 its supposed size. It looks nothing like the pictures on the menus, of course, but maybe my “pita bread” bun will cover tasty goodness.

    Um, “Supersonic + mustard” means that if I open it up and see no yellow sauce, I am pissed. And all that white lettuce? It’s not lettuce leaf, it’s core. Hard as rocks. The tomatoes? I tried to move them apart for a second shot, and to spread them over the burger, but they were cut so thin they literally fell apart, practically disintegrating.

    So not only was the burger substandard, but the hotdog looked like it had been cooked for four days and the fries had been sitting there for about that long. I’ve no idea why this place stays in business. It was so bad that I’d already bashed it for all these reasons a year ago on Bakersfield.com, and only discovered that I had when I went to leave a (or another) review of how dismal this place is. 30 minutes in a drive thru, cold fries, burnt dog, and a burger this bad with a mistake on the order?

    Sonic must be Burgerese for /FAIL/

Comments (4)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *