September 16, 2009

  • Catch! Up!

    Sorry there’s been no updates lately. I decided to try to enjoy the hell out of my three weeks off instead of staying cooped up in my home, so that’s why there’s been little on any front. I don’t think I spent more than ten waking hours at home in the last three weeks, so I’ve gotten the stir crazy out of me, for the time being, I think. That said, it’s time for the unavoidable.

    Three upper division classes.

    *UGH*

    First, the easy one, is Doc M’s Modern America class. 1 ten page paper. 2 hard-ass but passable tests. I’ve seen this movie before, and I could mail this puppy in. But I won’t. Why? It’s Doc M. He makes the class interesting, tells it like it is, and he deserves the best. So he’ll get some original research and another A effort.

    Second, the suprisingly not hard one, is Doctor C’s Civil Rights/Liberties class. He’s this old guy from Ohio, and it’s a little like being taught by a cross between Bill Cosby and Dennis Miller. Quite amusing, and there’s little chance of falling asleep in this one. Better yet, he’s axed the research component… it’s good to be the Dean… and rather than 1 long paper, he wants three position papers, he wants to see us think. That’s fun for me.

    Finally, the killa: Senior Seminar. 12-25 pages. Mexican-European connections. One of the hardest teachers. Night class. This is going to be brutal, just brutal. I’m thinking about doing something on the Mexican Navy, if my suspicions hold up and they bought their boats from the Clyde. Tonight, I’ll find out when I dredge up my copy of Jane’s 1917.

    Blood pressure’s up, but weight is down. Let’s see if we can’t get the other one down too. Peace out.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *